Jimmy Vesey Named Winner of 2016 Lars-Erik Sjoberg Award


Jimmy Vesey shares his thoughts on winning the 2016 Lars-Erik Sjoberg Award as the Rangers’ top rookie in training camp.


NEW YORK, October 6, 2016 – The New York Rangers announced today that Jimmy Vesey has been named this year’s winner of the Lars-Erik Sjoberg Award, which is given annually to the top Rangers rookie in Training Camp as selected by the media.

Entering Thursday’s contest, Vesey, 23, has registered one goal and has recorded seven shots on goal in three preseason games this year. In addition, he has drawn five penalties in the three games he has played.

The 6-3, 207-pounder represented the Rangers at the 2016 Traverse City Tournament, registering five goals and two assists for seven points in four games. Vesey led all skaters in the tournament in goals and shots on goal (20), and he tied for first among all skaters in the tournament in points. Vesey’s five goals were tied for the most any player has registered in one year during the Traverse City Tournament since 2007, and his seven points were tied for the most any Ranger has posted in one year in the Traverse City Tournament.

Vesey, who was signed by the Rangers as a free agent on August 19, 2016, skated in 33 games with Harvard University last season, registering 24 goals and 22 assists for 46 points, along with a plus-11 rating and six penalty minutes. He won the Hobey Baker Award as the top player in collegiate hockey in 2015-16, becoming the fourth player in Harvard’s history to win the award. Vesey ranked fourth in the NCAA in goals per game (0.73), tied for seventh in goals, and ranked eighth in points per game (1.39) in 2015-16. Vesey recorded 56 goals over his final two seasons of collegiate hockey (2014-15 and 2015-16), leading the NCAA in goals over the span.

The Lars-Erik Sjoberg Award, which was first presented in 1988, honors the memory of Lars-Erik Sjoberg, who was the Rangers chief European scout for eight years. During his tenure with the Blueshirts, Sjoberg played a prominent role in the team’s decision to draft Europeans such as Tomas Sandstrom, Jan Erixon, and Ulf Dahlen. Prior to joining the Rangers as a scout, Sjoberg played five seasons with the Winnipeg Jets during their time in the World Hockey Association (WHA), and he also skated with Winnipeg in its inaugural NHL season in 1979-80.


1988  Mike Richter

1989  Troy Mallette

1990  Steven Rice

1991  Tony Amonte

1992  Peter Andersson

1993  Mattias Norstrom

1994  Mattias Norstrom

1995  Niklas Sundstrom

1996  Eric Cairns

1997  Marc Savard

1998  Manny Malhotra

1999  Kim Johnsson

2000  Filip Novak

2001  Dan Blackburn

2002  Jamie Lundmark

2003  Dominic Moore

2005  Henrik Lundqvist

2006  Nigel Dawes and Brandon Dubinsky

2007  Marc Staal

2008  Lauri Korpikoski

2009  Matt Gilroy

2010  Derek Stepan

2011  Carl Hagelin

2013  Jesper Fast

2014  Anthony Duclair

2015  Oscar Lindberg

2016  Jimmy Vesey